20 (2008)
by Kyle Swenson Spratt and Adnan Marquez-Borbon

Stanford Laptop Orchestra (SLOrk)
SLOrktastic Chamber Music, CCRMA Stage
Stanford University, May 2008

score | code (ChucK)

Program Notes
Twenty is not a piece, but rather an experiment in emergence. It is a proof of the independence of sound and its liberated behavior from human control.

Additional Description
In this work for 20 laptops, each laptop is equipped with a program that routes the incoming sound from the microphone and plays it out the onboard laptop speakers. The laptops are introduced, one at a time, into a physical configuration that provides a setting for continuous mutual audio feedback. The physical laptop screens are used as a crude low-pass filter for the sound, adding a functional and visual control element.

back to works